For the latest local information regarding COVID-19, follow us on Facebook and see ourlocal news page

McLeansboro to Elect New Mayor, Aldermen in Today’s Consolidated Election

MCLEANSBORO – Voters in McLeansboro will choose a new mayor and city council members in today’s Consolidated Election.

Ward 1 Alderman Billy Glenn, Ward 2 Alderman Don Cox and Ward 3 Alderman Dale Biggerstaff are not up for reelection for alderman as their terms expire in 2023.

In Ward 1, Tom Maulding is running against Mike Scattone. In Ward 2, Thomas Murk is running unopposed as Jim Mason is not running for another term. In Ward 3, Lucas Jones in running unopposed as Richard Lasswell is not running for another term.

Alderman Cox is running with three others for mayor. They are Samuel Bryant Wilson, Rodney D. Hart and Chad May. May currently serves on the Hamilton County Board. If Cox loses, he will not lose his alderman seat. If he wins, a replacement will be appointed.

Current Mayor Dick Deitz is not running for another term.

City Clerk Jodi Brockett and City Treasurer Mary R. Bryson are running unopposed.

There are also many other races going on around the area including those for various school boards, city councils, village boards and college board of trustees including the John A. Logan Board of Trustees. In that race, five people are running for three seats. Glenn Poshard and Jake Rendleman are hoping voters give them another term while Brent Clark, John Streuter and Angelo Hightower are seeking their chance to become a trustee.

Polls opened at 6 a.m. and will close at 7 p.m.

Look for complete election results on our website when they become available tonight.