For the latest local information regarding COVID-19, follow us on Facebook and see ourlocal news page

May Elected McLeansboro Mayor

MCLEANSBORO – Voters in McLeansboro chose Chad May as their new mayor in Tuesday’s Consolidated Election.

May got 370 votes followed by Samuel Bryant Wilson with 175 votes, Donald Cox got 63 votes and Rodney Hart received 39 votes.

May will replace long-time Mayor Dick Deitz, who did not seek another term.

In the Alderman race, Ward 1 Alderman Tom Maulding won another term beating Mike Scattone 239 to 94. Thomas Murk will be the new Alderman in Ward 2 as he ran unopposed and will replace Jim Mason, who didn’t seek another term. Lucas Jones will be the new Ward 3 Alderman. Jones ran unopposed and will replace Richard Lasswell who didn’t seek another term. Donald Cox will remain as Alderman in Ward 2 since he did not win the mayor’s race.

May along with Maulding, Murk and Jones will be sworn in at the May McLeansboro City Council Meeting.

In the John A. Logan Board of Trustees race, Glenn Poshard and Jake Rendleman won re-election and will be joined by newcomer Brent Clark. 

Click here to see complete election results from Tuesday.