For the latest local information regarding COVID-19, follow us on Facebook and see ourlocal news page

ISBE Puts 29 School Districts on Probation for Not Complying with Indoor Mask Requirement

SPRINGFIELD – Since last week, Illinois State Board of Education has put 29 school districts on probation for flouting a universal mask mandate for students ordered by Gov. J.B. Pritzker on Aug. 4 to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

According to ISBE spokeswoman Jaklyn Matthews, the districts confirmed they’re not complying with the universal indoor masking requirement.

Probation will allow the districts to meet with ISBE and to submit a corrective action plan to address the deficiencies that are presenting a danger to students and staff.

Matthews says school districts that do not submit an approvable plan will lose recognition status, meaning total loss of access to state funding and the inability to participate in IHSA and IESA sports.

School districts in Franklin, Jefferson and Wayne County are among the 29 ISBE has put on probation. Disciplinary actions occurred between Aug. 12 and Monday. All are public school districts.

One other private district in Williamson County had its recognition status pulled last week but agreed on Monday to comply with mask requirements and the state is waiting for verification documents, Matthews said.